Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/sjmkblvq7drc/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/_inc/lib/class.media-summary.php on line 77

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/sjmkblvq7drc/public_html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/_inc/lib/class.media-summary.php on line 87

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/sjmkblvq7drc/public_html/wp-includes/post-template.php on line 284


As an  outcome of the peace agreement of the Bougainville conflict, the Autonomous  Region of Bougainville has its own constitution which gives significant  autonomy over its own affairs, unlike any other part of PNG.

However, the constitution is subject to the  constitution of Papua New Guinea and the national government retaines key  powers, such as defence and foreign relations.

The Supreme Court of Papua New Guinea remains the highest court in  Bougainville.  In this way, the  arrangement between Bougainville and the wider Papua New Guinea is broadly  similar to that between Australian state and federal governments.

The head of the Autonomous Government has the  title ‘President’.

The  constitution of Bougainville specifies that the Autonomous Bougainville  Government shall consist of three branches:

  [1].  Executive – the Bougainville Executive Council led by a President

[2].  Legislative – the Bougainville House of Representatives (39 elected members and  2 ex-officio members

[3].  Judicial – the Bougainville Courts including Supreme Court and High Court.

The  Judicial powers are still reserved by the Papua New Guinea Government.

The first election  was held from May to June 2005 with the formation of inaugural Autonomous  Bougainville Government led by President Joseph Kabui and Joseph Watawi as Vice  President. Mr. Kabui died in June 2008 and was succeeded by James Tanis in  November 2008.

John Tambinaman was the acting President with Mathias Salas as  the acting Vice President from June to November 2008.

John Momis is the President of the second House of Representative. The second  ABG election was held recently from May to June 2010.